France, part of Europe

France, or the French Republic, is a member of the European Union with its mainland territory, known as metropolitan France, being located in Western Europe. France is made up of territories located throughout the world. These territories make France the largest country in the European Union and Europe. France is also the oldest country among the current major European states.

France, the largest country in the European Union, stretches from the North Sea to the Mediterranean. It has a very varied landscape. The terrain is mountainous in the east and south of the country, with the Alpine peak, Mont Blanc, at 4,810 metres, forming the highest point in Western Europe. The French plain is formed by four river basins: the Seine in the north, the Loire and Garonne flowing towards the west, and the Rhône, which runs from Lake Geneva to the Mediterranean Sea.

The Member States are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.